Special Session Organization

Special sessions provide the opportunity to focus in detail on particular emerging topics, which are not reflected in the list of conference tracks or represent a specific working fields where researchers would like to meet and discuss advances.

Organization of special sessions

Once approved, it is the duty of the organizers to publicize the Special Session among researchers and practitioners in the field and attract a sufficient number of papers.

Papers submitted to SSs will undergo the same review process as regular papers. The SS chairs of the respective special session are responsible for organizing the review process, assuring at least three reviews per paper. This includes selection of reviewers from their peers.

Before starting the review process,SS organizers must explicitly declare papers which present a conflict of interest for them. A conflict of interest arises where the judgement of a paper quality can be influenced by the organizers being authors or knowing some of the authors. To ensure independent reviews, this conflict must be marked as such in the submission system and the SS chairs notified so that they can arrange the review process.

A minimum of 5 accepted papers with authors from at least 3 independent institutions is required for each session. If a session has too few papers, accepted papers will be allocated to regular sessions wherever possible. In case of indication of weakly organized special sessions, the conference organizers will support the organizers with advice but reserve measures including cancellation of the respective special session.

Organizers of a successful Special Session will get a free registration for every 5 papers submitted to the Special Session and finally included in the program.

Proposal Submission

Please send your proposal in PDF format (template) to: aris2019@nchu.edu.tw. Submission deadline is May 3, 2019. Later submissions can be considered on special request.


Special Session Chairs of ARIS2019

Hsien-I Lin, Nat’l Taipei Univ. of Tech.

Yi-Hung Liu, Nat’l Taipei Univ. of Tech.

Ching-Chang Wong, TAIROA / Tamkang Univ.

Ming-Shyan Wang, Sourthern Taiwan Univ. of Sci. and Tech.

Jung-Shan Lin, Nat’l Chi-Nan Univ.

Yen-Chen Liu, Nat’l Cheng Kung Univ.

Rong-Jyue Wang, Nat’l Formosa Univ.

Sendren Sheng-Dong Xu, Nat’l Taiwan Univ. of Sci. and Tech.